8 responses to Book Review: The Happening by Harvey Yoder
  • *
    Matthew
    Comment on Book Review: The Happening by Harvey Yoder (October 2nd, 2007 at 05:33)

    Let us all take a few moments today to pray for continued healing and peace for all the families involved in this horrific event – especially the children who will forever be scarred by what they saw that day. And may the souls of the children who perished rest in peace.

    Matthew

  • *
    Dave Carrig
    Comment on Book Review: The Happening by Harvey Yoder (October 3rd, 2007 at 13:48)

    There is another book out on this now – “Amish Grace: How forgiveness trascends tragedy” by Don Kraybill and Steven Nolt. I read about it in USA Today yesterday.

    I would really be more interested to see something written on the guy who did the murders – and if any investigation was done as to “why” he did it. That is one question that has been left unanswered that I wish someone would take a crack at.

    Living so close to Nickel Mines – I have often pondered over this tragedy in the past year and wondered what would possess someone to commit such an atrocious crime.

    From all the media reports around here – the killer was by outward appearances a normal guy with a normal life – job/family/etc.

    I remember there were some other school attacks around the country at the same time and I have wondered if there was some kind of underground pornographic thing that influenced these guys into acting out some kind of sick fantasy.

    I’m not one who believes in coincidices. If my guess is right – then there are more people involved who should somehow be held accountable.

  • *
    Comment on Why did the PA shooter attack the Amish school? (October 4th, 2007 at 15:06)

    Why did the PA shooter attack the Amish school?

    That is an interesting question, Dave,–why?–but I bet we won’t ever know. In Harvey Yoder’s book, the Amish even express the same sentiment. If something else emerges, they should pursue it of course, but I haven’t heard that anything has, and I guess the community is mostly focused on continuing to heal. I was actually not even going to go into the subject again, but really felt Yoder’s book was worthwhile, for keeping the greater lesson of faith and forgiveness in public view.

  • *
    Comment on Book Review: The Happening by Harvey Yoder (November 3rd, 2007 at 20:50)

    The Happening

    It was just another Monday morning, albeit an exceptionally lovely one. The people of Nickel Mines, Pennsylvania, went about their daily lives, tending their farms and heading off to work or school. Only one man had any idea what this particular Mon…

  • *
    Heather Bucklew
    Comment on Book Review: The Happening by Harvey Yoder (October 1st, 2009 at 18:45)

    the the story. i feel bad for them.

  • *
    Scott Townsell
    Comment on Book Review: The Happening by Harvey Yoder (October 9th, 2010 at 21:12)

    I have been truly blessed by this book. I read it about 2 years ago and still today I use parts of the book in my life. Forgiveness! WOW

  • *
    Comment on Book Review: The Happening by Harvey Yoder (November 23rd, 2010 at 17:54)

    Happy to hear it Scott. A powerful message.

  • *
    Monica
    Comment on Book Review: The Happening by Harvey Yoder (June 20th, 2013 at 19:52)

    I have also been truly blessed by this book. And feel bad for them as well

Leave a reply to Book Review: The Happening by Harvey Yoder

 

Resource List
Reliable information from one of the largest Amish sites on the web.

Join over 10,000 email subscribers to get:
Amish Community Info | Book Giveaways | Amish Writers & non-Amish Experts | More



100% Free | No Spam | Unsubscribe Anytime

«»